Sunday, January 30, 2011

Sara Aull Student Paper Award 2010

The NCSLA sponsored Sara Aull Student Paper Award was presented to Chris Doty of UNC-Chapel Hill during the NCSLA annual banquet in December 2010. This annual award is given to a North Carolina library science graduate student who has written a paper of publishable quality relating to special libraries. Doty was awarded $1,000 for his paper entitled Influences of Anticipated Citation Counts and Author-Fees on the Attitudes of Tenure-Track Science Faculty toward Open Access Journals.

Doty’s paper explores what factors influence UNC biology and chemistry faculty to choose where to send their manuscripts for publication. The paper also explores faculty’s publishing decisions based on their expectation of increased citations. Doty’s goal was to find successful strategies to market Open Access to biomedical, life science, and physical science researchers.

Doty’s background in science research as well as his interest in scholarly communication in the sciences influenced the topic of his paper. He plans on pursuing further extensions of this paper. With Open Access being such a timely topic, we look forward to his future publications and contributions to the library and information science field.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

2010 Annual Banquet

On Thursday, December 2nd, NCSLA hosted their Annual Banquet at the Rizzo Conference Center in Chapel Hill. The festivities kicked off at six o’clock with a social hour followed by an excellent dinner. The Board meeting following dinner highlighted the past year’s NCSLA sponsored events such as NCSLA Technology Round Table, Workplace Diversity 2.0, Professional Presence Workshop, Get Connected: Networking Event, Resume Review Workshops, and Student Networking Dinner. These workshops not only allowed librarians to interact with colleagues, but also gave them the opportunity to update their professional skills.

The meeting continued with the year-end award ceremony where NCSLA members were recognized for their accomplishments.

The Information Management Award was presented to Joanie and Andre Olivier of Iconitel Consulting Services, Inc. This award is given to an organization for its excellent support in serving a North Carolina special library.

The Horizon Award was presented to Jill Robinson Morris of NC Live. This award is given to a member who has demonstrated the promise of becoming an outstanding member of the library and information science profession.

The Meritorious Achievement Award was presented to Susan Forbes of the EPA-RTP Library, UNC SIS Contractor. This award is given to a chapter member who has made outstanding contributions to NCLSA and to the library and information science profession.

The NCSLA Chapter recognizes and thanks the award winners for their hard work and continued commitment to special libraries and the profession.

The banquet closed with the announcement of the newly elected leaders of the NCSLA board. Susan Forbes is the new President Elect and Jill Robinson Morris is the new 1st Year Director. Tamika Barnes, the new President, closed the meeting. You can find a complete listing of the NCSLA Board and Committee Chairs here: